ATA Nominating Committee October 2013 Board Report

The 2013 Nominating Committee was charged to put forth two candidates for President elect, and four candidates for the two available Director positions. In 2011 a charge of diversity was given to the nominating committee which initiated discussions for altering the election process. After a bylaws change at the 81st Annual Meeting, the 2012 election formally changed the ballot such that slots are assigned based on a specific discipline determined by the standing Board of Directors. The goal is to selecting active and involved ATA members of different constituencies to keep the BOD diverse, representative of our membership, and evolving leaders in the field of Thyroidology.

Four members will be rotating off the Board this year - David Sarne, James Fagin, Peter Kopp, and Elizabeth Pearce. It was determined based on the specialties of the members rotating off that we will allocate one of the slots for a basic scientist director and the other for a director at-large. We will continue to address the gender balance initiative and have started to consider geographic distribution as we currently have no representation from the west coast or the southwest.

For the nominations we encouraged our members to nominate their colleagues by sending out a Call for Nominations through our various communication platforms including, the ATA website, individual emails, SIGNAL enews, the *Thyroid* Journal, *Clinical Thyroidology* and the annual meeting program book.

After reviewing and ranking the remaining 26 candidates (3 for President elect, 6 for Director basic scientist, 17 for Director at large) the committee held a conference call in May to discuss their final decisions. The committee is pleased to recommend the following individuals for the 2013 ballot:

President Elect	Director Basic Scientist
Yaron Tomer, MD	Anthony Hollenberg, MD
Robert Smallridge, MD	Yuri Nikiforov MD, PhD

<u>Director - At-Large</u> Jacqueline Jonklaas, MD Manisha Shah, MD

There were initially a total of 37 nominations for the various positions however some candidates were removed and other candidates wished to have their name withdrawn for the 2013 election. The Nominating committee requested setting eligibility requirements for Board of Director nominees. The following conditions were approved in June 2013 and added to the ATA's Policies and Procedures for nominations:

- Presidential candidates must serve as Director on the ATA Board before running for President
- Director candidates must serve on an ATA committee first, but does not have to be chair
- All candidates should have a 5-years of minimum ATA membership and 5-years of ATA meeting attendance. This is not an either/or, must have 5 years minimum of both.

Nominating Committee

Rebecca Bahn, Chair (2011-2013)
Orlo Clark (2011-2014)
Sandra McLachlan (2012-2015)
Samuel Refetoff (2011-2014)
E. Chester Ridgway (2010-2013)
Mary Samuels (2010-2013)

Peter Singer (2011-2014) Carole Spencer (2011-2014) Leonard Wartofsky (2010-2013) Board Liaison: John Morris Staff Liaison: Bobbi Smith