6 Candidates Nominated for the Election in 2013 President-elect and Directors

After a bylaws change at the 81st Annual Meeting, the 2012 election formally changed the election process to reflect specific disciplines as determined by the current Board of Directors. The goal to select active and involved ATA members of different constituencies will keep the Board diverse, represent our membership, and engage evolving leaders in the management of the ATA.

Four members will be rotating off the Board in October 2013 - David Sarne, James Fagin, Peter Kopp, and Elizabeth Pearce. The ATA Board of Directors has recommended to the Nominating Committee allocation of the Director openings to be for a basic scientist and for a director at-large.

ATA Members were encouraged to place candidates in consideration through a Call for Nominations on the ATA website, email broadcasts, SIGNAL enews, the *Thyroid* Journal, *Clinical Thyroidology* and the 2012 annual meeting program book.

The Nominating committee, chaired by Rebecca Bahn, as approved by the Board of Directors, makes the following recommendations for the 2013 Ballot:

<u>President Elect</u>	Director Basic Scientist	<u> Director – At-Large</u>
Robert Smallridge, MD	Anthony Hollenberg, MD	Jacqueline Jonklaas, MD
Yaron Tomer, MD	Yuri Nikiforov, MD, PhD	Manisha Shah, MD

As stated in the **ATA Bylaws (Article V, Section V),** after being notified of the proposed candidates for elective office ATA active members have the opportunity to nominate by petition accordingly:

Within the next thirty days, nominations by petition for elective office may be submitted. Such petitions require the signatures of at least 5% of the active members. Ballots are to be sent to the membership thirty days in advance of the annual meeting.

At this time, the ATA has 834 Active Members.

The ballot and election guide will be sent by Survey Monkey for your consideration and vote in mid-September.