

## Call for Applications Editor-in-Chief of THYROID

Dr. Charles Emerson will complete his term on December 31, 2012 as Editor-in-Chief of THYROID, the official journal of the American Thyroid Association (ATA). Dr. Emerson has guided the journal over the last five years with great skill and dedication.

The ATA Publications Committee solicits applications for the position of Editor-in-Chief of THYROID. The new Editor-in-Chief of THYROID will officially assume responsibility on January 1, 2013, but must be prepared to transition to the new editorial operation in the fall of 2012. The Committee seeks an individual who will continue to encourage strong growth of the journal's quality, reputation and scholarship. The applicant must be a respected thyroid investigator who is well organized, innovative, energetic and dedicated to making Thyroid indispensable to clinicians and scientists alike. Proven experience as an editor, associate editor, or active editorial board member on a peer-reviewed journal is essential. A willingness to work collaboratively to ensure that the journal meets the goals of both the ATA and the Publisher will be required. The applicant must also be proficient in the use of the latest electronic technology to expedite review and publication of submitted manuscripts.

Applicants should submit a cover letter, their curriculum vitae and a general statement outlining their vision and aims for THYROID during their proposed tenure addressed to Dr. Peter Kopp, Search Committee Chair, by email to Bobbi Smith, CAE, ATA Executive Director at bsmith@thyroid.org.

Applications should arrive no later than January 1, 2012. Applications will be reviewed during the first quarter of 2012 and finalists must be available to be interviewed in person at the early June 2012 Endocrine Society meeting. Questions regarding this position may be directed to the Search Committee Chair or the Editor-in-Chief.

## Members of EIC search task force:

Peter Kopp, Chair & Board Liaison Paolo Beck-Peccoz Lewis Braverman Sheue-yann Cheng Vicki Cohn Terry Davies Charles Emerson James Fagin Alan Farwell
Jerome Hershman
Anthony Hollenberg
Paul Ladenson
John Morris
Brendan Stack
Bobbi Smith, Staff Liaison